Enemy At The Door: Series 1

  |  Buy to Own: 14/08/2006
  |  650 min
Rated TBC by the BBFC
Enemy At The Door: Series 1 Film Poster


All 13 episodes from series one of the TV drama portraying the daily life of Channel islanders under German occupation during WWII. As the only British territory to be occupied by the Nazi regime during WWII, the Channel Islands represented a glimpse of what life in Britain could have been like if Germany had won the war. Blending archive footage with contemporary film techniques, the series achieved a gritty realism that went a long way to recreating the fear and uncertainty endemic in the population at the time. Episodes comprise: 'By Order of the Fuhrer', 'The Librarian', 'After the Ball', 'Steel Hand from the Sea', 'The Laws and Usages of War', 'V for Victory', 'The Polish Affaire', 'Officers of the Law', 'The Jerry Bag', 'Treason', 'Pains and Penalties', 'The Prussian Officer' and 'Judgement of Solomon'.