Humphrey Jennings: The Collection

  |  Buy to Own: 25/07/2005
  |  184 min
Rated TBC by the BBFC
Humphrey Jennings: The Collection Film Poster


Triple-bill of documentaries by acclaimed filmmaker Humphrey Jennings, who captured the sights and sounds of Britain during the Second World War. 'Listen to Britain' (1942) eschews commentary or a musical backing to present the country only through natural sound and image. 'Diary For Timothy' (1945) is narrated by Michael Redgrave from a script by E.M. Forster, and takes the form of a diary for a baby born in the momentous year between 1944 and 1945, with the country wearied by conflict. Finally, 'I Was a Fireman' (1943) is Jennings' landmark feature that follow 24 hours in the life of a Fire Unit during the Blitz on London.