This Ugly Yet Beautiful World: Volumes 1-3

  |  Buy to Own: 25/08/2008
  |  300 min
Rated TBC by the BBFC
This Ugly Yet Beautiful World: Volumes 1-3 Film Poster


All 12 episodes from the first three volumes of the Japanese anime series. Takeru can't see much point in his existence until he meets Hikari, a beautiful girl who falls from the stars with no memory of who she is (or, for that matter, where her clothes are). Takeru takes her into his care, but soon realises that Hikari is not like other girls. Her name may mean 'light', but she has a dark history - and an even darker future; one that will change Takeru and his friends forever, and show them all just how beautiful yet cruel this universe can be. As Hikari settles in as 'one of the gang,' she and Takeru grow closer, much to Mari's chagrin. In an effort to expose Hikari to as many different experiences as possible, Jennifer arranges for Hikari to join Takeru's school as a transfer student, but things go disastrously wrong when she discovers there Ioneos, her own equivalent of Akari's helper/pet Kuon. Although Hikari marvels at all of the wonderment in the world around her, bubbling within is her darker side, one which serves a far less pleasant purpose and is increasingly finding its way to the surface. The monsters - called 'EDs' - sense it as well, and make another strike at her. Hikari at last remembers her mission - and tears herself apart trying to ignore it. But fate is unkind, as it deals Hikari's newborn human heart a fatal blow in the form of an insoluble romantic dilemma. So Dark Hikari rises again and, deliberately cutting her ties with Takeru, commences her deadly duties...