Three Films By Zhangke Jia

  |  Buy to Own: 29/01/2018
  |  353 min
Rated TBC by the BBFC
Three Films By Zhangke Jia Film Poster


Collection of three films written and directed by Zhangke Jia. '24 City' (2008) is based on the closure of a factory in the Chinese city of Chengdu. Scenes of the factory in operation and subsequently being dismantled and demolished are intercut with interviews with its workers: some real, some played by actors. The result is an intimate and emotional portrait of ordinary Chinese people - young, middle-aged and old - living in an evolving economy and rapidly changing society. 'A Touch of Sin' (2013) follows four stories which share the theme of violence: coal miner Dahai (Wu Jiang) goes on a murderous rampage after being humiliated by his boss; migrant Zhou San (Baoqiang Wang) kills and robs his victims in order to earn a living; sauna employee Xiao Yu (Tao Zhao) defends herself from a brutal attack; and young worker Xiao Hui (Lanshan Luo) is punished for breaking his employer's rules and ends up contemplating suicide. Finally, 'Mountains May Depart' (2015) follows Tao (Zhao), a young Chinese woman in a relationship with local coal miner Liang (Jing Dong Liang). Before long Tao also begins to attract the attention of arrogant entrepreneur Jingsheng (Yi Zhang), who buys the coal mine in a bid to force Liang out of the picture and take Tao for himself. With Liang gone, Tao and Jingsheng marry and start a family, only for a twist of fate to reunite the trio years later.